Kara Author Pictures 012

I was born and raised in the Central Valley of California, the eldest daughter of farmers. My family has been farming the same piece of land for over 150 years, which is pretty awesome when you think about it. You could say that a love for the land and agriculture runs deep in my blood, and somehow the landscapes I grew up with always ends up in the books I write.

As a kid, I read anything I could get my hands on. My biggest treat in the summer was to go to the library with my mom, and pick out the books I’d read that week. Some favorites include Island of the Blue Dolphin, the Narnia series, and J.R.R. Tolkein’s Lord of the Rings. As an adult, I stumbled upon the amazing renassiance that was happening in the world of young adult books, and I was instantly hooked. I love the intensity, the immediacy of growing through the teenager years: the first kiss, first love, first heartbreak. The trying to figure out your life and that leap into becoming your own person. Some favorite YAs are the Gayle Forman books, anything by Lauren Oliver, and Stephanie Perkins, to name a small few.

Social work and a passion for kids in foster care has always been in my blood, too. I have a Masters in Social Work and have been a social worker for over twenty years, from homeless shelters to counseling to CPS. I currently work in adoptions, which I adore.  I am completely in awe of some of the families I have worked with, as well as the kids. Such big hearts and such strength. Some of the teens I’ve worked with had such profound stories that I could never forget them, which is partly how FINDING PONY came to be written.

Aside from writing, I love reading, especially YA. I am obsessed with all things magical including, in no particular order: fairy gardens, ghost stories, birds in nests, great hiking, the beach, Lake Tahoe, the stars, Bigfoot, great kissing scenes (movies and books), epic hero’s journeys, growing things, and chai lattes (soy, no water) from Starbucks. Because, you know. Heaven’s nectar.

My husband Matt and I have five kids, ranging in age from eighteen to eight which means one thing: I am exhausted! On any given day I am running someone to either of the following activities: golf, baseball, track, piano, theater, voice lessons, CCD, water polo, and badminton. But I love the energy that my kids and their friends bring to the house (and selfishly it gives me awesome material as well!)

If you would like to read more, here are some interviews I have participated in:

https://chrysalishouseinc.wordpress.com/2015/11/01/ask-the-author-a-discussion-of-finding-pony-by-kara-lucas-msw/

http://www.writersauthorsonfire.com/036-kara-lucas/

http://www.kmph-kfre.com/story/30219207/great-day-book-club-108-scary-books

http://kingsriverlife.com/09/19/interview-with-local-author-kara-lucas/

http://mudvilledames.com/book-movie-reviews/finding-pony

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

*all photos used on this website are courtesy of Addington Images